Home > debian, laptop issues > PulseAudio – No sound on laptop

PulseAudio – No sound on laptop

Problem:
I was having a flaky sound problem. I could reboot my machine and not get any sound when playing videos via vlc or mplayer. Other times it would work. I eventually broke it and even with multiple reboots and prayers I was not getting any sound. Granted this all happened when I started messy around trying to install software that would allow me to convert mp4 videos to simple audio. (Dropped that project though since I now had bigger problems).

Debian Testing initially did not come installed with pulseaudio… I installed this due to skype. That is another issue explained here. So here is how I finally managed to get back my sound.


Solution:

I reinstalled pulseaudio (not sure if you need all these files but I was pretty desparate at this stage and just copying stuff of the internet. See source below.)

As root

apt-get install pulseaudio libao4 paprefs libpulse-mainloop-glib0 pulseaudio-module-jack pavucontrol pulseaudio-module-x11 gstreamer0.10-pulseaudio pulseaudio-utils libasound2-plugins paman pulseaudio-module-gconf libgconfmm-2.6-1c2 pavumeter libglademm-2.4-1c2a pulseaudio-esound-compat libpulse0 libpulse-dev pulseaudio-module-bluetooth pulseaudio-module-zeroconf

Then installed mate-volume-control using synpatic.

From the bash prompt I had a look at my sound settings

$ mate-volume-control

If you still have an issue with pulseaudio then mate-volume-controller will not open up. It was at this point that I noticed that my volume was on mute. Once I un-muted, my sound was back.

Extra:

Since I use fluxbox I added mate-volume-control-applet to the startup script.

# Applications you want to run with fluxbox.
# MAKE SURE THAT APPS THAT KEEP RUNNING HAVE AN & AT THE END.
#
# unclutter -idle 2 &
# wmnd &
# wmsmixer -w &
# idesk &
  nm-applet &
  xscreensaver &
  mate-power-manager &
  mate-volume-control-applet &
  nitrogen --restore &

Source:
http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?t=12497

  1. MurksVomOrk
    April 15, 2017 at 6:37 pm

    # unclutter -idle 2 &
    # wmnd &
    # wmsmixer -w &
    # idesk &
    nm-applet &
    xscreensaver &
    mate-power-manager &
    mate-volume-control-applet &
    nitrogen –restore &

    & –> &
    (= HTML –> text)

    • April 19, 2017 at 7:13 am

      Thanks. My wordpress editor choose to change from text to HTML 😦

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

