Home > laptop issues > fluxbox gdm flaky display resolution – update

fluxbox gdm flaky display resolution – update

Problem:
As I had mentioned here. I was having display settings issues. As I wasn’t able to change my settings using gnome-control-center I installed arandr. With arandr I am able to change back my settings from 800×600 to 1366×768. I had added the xrandr command to my ~.fluxbox/startup file but it was failing to reset my display when the settings were changing to 2214×768.

Solution:
arandr allows you to save your chosen settings to a file. It is a xrandr command.

$less .screenlayout/desired_layout.sh
#!/bin/sh
xrandr --output DP2 --off --output DP1 --off --output TV1 --off --output HDMI1 --off --output LVDS1 --mode 1366x768 --pos 0x0 --rotate normal --output VGA1 --off

I copied this command to ~.flubox/startup file replacing the old xrandr command that I had there.

I hope that this will be the end of my troubles with wrong display settings.

Update:(2012-02-22)
Yes. It works. For some reason it boots up and detects that there is a TV connected so it adjusts the display to consider that. The new xrandr command works nicely.

Categories: laptop issues Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

