Home > laptop issues > fluxbox gdm flaky display resolution

fluxbox gdm flaky display resolution

Problem:
I love fluxbox, but occassionally when booting up my laptop the display resolution changes from 1366×768 to 1024×768. Why? I do not know. (Although I think it is because of the gnome-settings-daemon version 2.30.2 that I am using that has a “bug” – Not sure. Once I get this version 3.2.2-1 I will know for sure). So I finally found a fix. xrandr.

Solution.
I added this line to my ~./fluxbox/startup file.

xrandr -s 1366x768 -r 60

Which means every time fluxbox starts up the correct resolution is set.

Source.
I got that tip from here
http://fluxbox-wiki.org/index.php?title=Change_resolution

Now the only issue I have is that I can not use gnome-control-center to change settings while using fluxbox. Hopefully the newer version of gnome-settings-daemon will sort that out.

Categories: laptop issues Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

